Seasons, Race Wars, and More

It’s been awhile since I’ve used this keyboard. I can feel the stiffness in my tendons as my fingers find Home Row.

I could never live in a city with one season. I’ve known this for a while, but I’m only coming to realize why now. I admit, Winter really sucks, but having four seasons help me remember that life is moving forward. With, or without me.

My memory and the weather seem to be directly related. I can recall some of my darkest memories. The day George hit me in the head with a questionable “snow” ball that caused my head to swell. How much trouble I got into that day, and how we stopped being friends when my mother knocked on his door, visible steam radiating from her head. The day we lost to Burlington in the Tyke Football Championship Game. How my stubby legs sunk knee-deep into the snow.

The day The Monster was arrested. The thickness and humidity in the air. My infant brother still defecating himself in his pampers. It was so unbelievably hot that night, we all took to sleeping on the floor in the living room; with the exception of The Monster of course. The living room was the only location in the house with AC. I remember how my cousins and I hid under the sheets, pretending to be asleep as loud bangs on the front door echoed through the house. As the sweat ran dripped off my nose, I could see the reflection of the siren lights in the living room window.

That was approximately sixteen years ago…

Today is July 08 2016. I’m reading about the Race Wars in America, and how idiotic they must look to the rest of the world. I imagine two monkeys in a cage throwing their feces at each other. It brings me such sorrow. I remember the Trayvon Martin case. Following the news religiously, posting on social medias, signing petitions on Change.org – you name it. But the point of this post isn’t to talk about injustices.

The point of this post is, that as I type this up, I’m looking out the office windows at five children playing in water I’d frankly never stick my toe in. There are four boys and one girl. Two of the boys have a pallet resembling Casper. The other two boys are dark skinned, rich with thick curled hair that must be impossible to stick a comb through. The girl streaking through the water, has the complexion of the bottom of the Ice-cap from Tim Hortons that you never finish because all the taste is gone. They are all laughing, playing and hugging. The point is that ill never forget this day, this sight, or the beautiful 28 degree weather. It’s the day I remembered among all this fighting, we used to be connected…

Who detached us?

~Jay

About 50 shadesof jay

I figure I can browse for a home on the line, faster than i'll be able to buy one made of bricks.
This entry was posted in life as we know it., Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

