Part-Time Lovers

I was wondering when this day would come
Lying to myself, pretending
I didn’t know where it was coming from
Maybe I saw the signs
Instead I refused to believe
The alteration in your demeanor
Could disrupt anything we’ve achieved

We’ve come so far already
What’s the point of reverting?
How can you live with yourself?
When the one who loves you is hurting?

I’ll never forget the first day we met
You were with her, and I with him
But oh how quickly we’d soon forget
I mean, I look in the mirror disgustingly
So I watch my reflection in your eyes so reluctantly…

I see it,
I see it in all these young couples
They walk the mall, hand-in-hand
With hopes of something deeper than a one-night-stand
As I clap, as I applaud
I know how this movie ends
No one in this love life, is ever your forever
You sign up for full-time
But you’re a part-time worker
The hours are suck
You’re underpaid
They couldn’t care less about your story
Your schedule is inconsistent
You’re at the bottom of seniority

So wake me up when there’s a full time position
Heartbreak on my mental
I won’t settle for your rental
But since love is in the air
I know just what to do

Roses are red

Violets are blue

Happy Valentine’s Day

To you too

 

~ Jay

5207576972_721b969c59_b

About 50 shadesof jay

I figure I can browse for a home on the line, faster than i'll be able to buy one made of bricks.
This entry was posted in life as we know it. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

